Support Forum Softcomplex logo
About Us  | Services  | Download  | Order  | Support  | |
| Search | Today's Posts | Stats | Board Rules | Not logged in [ Login | Register ]
go to bottom
Last active: Never

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread
Author: Subject: Problem Accessing Control Panel
jsvachon
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered: 10/3/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/3/2003 at 12:56 PM Reply With Quote
Problem Accessing Control Panel


Hi,

I've recently installed the calendar onto my brother's web site and while I can show calendars from the demo. I can't make the control panel work.

When I click on my link to the control panel, it prompts me for my admin login/passwd and opens the control panel just fine... but whenever I try to use any of its function, it prompts me again for my login/password and bring me back to the starting point.

I am not receiving any error messages or warning so I tried reading through this forum for hints. I've already set the permissions to 777 and commented out the content of auth.php. I can't use phpinfo() within my scripts.. this function was disabled by the site's administrator.

The URL is: www.pingouin.ca/~evachon/frerot/ELA.html

Clicking on 'SCHEDULE' will show one of the demo's calendar. Clicking on Admin should popup the control panel.

Thanks for any hint and keep up the good work...

PS: The only problem I am having with the demo's calendar is that whenever I change the current month, the 3rd day of each month is highlighted as if it was the current day. Is this the normal behaviour?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Kickfjader
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered: 9/27/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/3/2003 at 08:22 PM Reply With Quote
I think its normal...


I think the PS. u wrote is normal.
I have it like that too, dont think its a problem for anyone either.
When u reload the page its gets back to todays month/date.

The other "bigger" problem u having i only guessing that u might forgotten to write right path in global.php and calendar.php file.

Goodluck!
Kicken
www.kickfjader.tk
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
jsvachon
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered: 10/3/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/5/2003 at 01:42 PM Reply With Quote

Hi,

Thanks for your input. I tried many different settings for specifying paths in global.php and calender.php and I can't get it to work.

Should the paths be relative or absolute? I tried both and absolute paths seems to work better but I still have the same problem.

When I intentionnaly put a bad path in either file, I am receiving a lot of warnings messages (as I expected). So I guess, if something was really wrong with my paths I would have warnings as well.

Could that be an imcompatibility issue with the PHP version installed on the website? I asked for the info but I couldn't get my hand on it yet.

Thanks
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
nik


Posts:
Registered: 1/1/1970
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/6/2003 at 08:07 AM Reply With Quote

We've tried to open the URL you've mentioned but we couldn't do it.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
jsvachon
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered: 10/3/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/6/2003 at 11:52 AM Reply With Quote

My brother removed it.... I will fix this and provide you with a valid URL.

Thanks for looking by.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
nik


Posts:
Registered: 1/1/1970
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/6/2003 at 11:54 AM Reply With Quote

It would help us to solve your problem.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
jsvachon
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered: 10/3/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/6/2003 at 12:15 PM Reply With Quote

ok.

please look at www.pingouin.ca/~evachon/test

I've uploaded all the files from the provided zip file to this location and modified the different paths in global.php and calendar.php. I've also made required changes to file/dir permissions. (I put most of them to 777... is that necessary? )

The admin password is still "admin/demo"...

Thanks again for your time.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
nik


Posts:
Registered: 1/1/1970
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/6/2003 at 01:59 PM Reply With Quote

Unfortunately we can't open the URL you've mentioned.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
jsvachon
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered: 10/3/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/6/2003 at 03:00 PM Reply With Quote

Hi,

I don't understand why you can't open this URL...

When I click on the link of my previous post, a new window opens and displays the default index.php
page.

What do you mean by "can't open whole domain"?

Later,
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
jsvachon
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered: 10/3/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/7/2003 at 02:38 AM Reply With Quote

Hi,

I just notices something when comparing my control panel with the online demo...

When I look at the "Event Editor" link at the top of the page.. the demo links to
http://www.softcomplex.com/products/php_event_calendar/demo/index.php?page=s

but on my page the same link refers to:

www.pingouin.ca/~evachon/test/cl_files/index.php?page=e&pingouin.ca=166dedcccd27cac8f56fedbcaea9b976

I have no idea where the pingouin.ca.... comes from...

Any idea?

PS: I finally received the information about the PHP version the server is using. It is using PHP 4.3 on a Linux box. So the script should have work out ot the box.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
nik


Posts:
Registered: 1/1/1970
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/7/2003 at 08:28 AM Reply With Quote

We still can't open your URL. And as for pingouin.ca= it is session ID. It was added to your URL by your server. You shouldn't worry about it.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
jsvachon
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered: 10/3/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/7/2003 at 12:13 PM Reply With Quote

Hi,

ok I've worked on this last night (much too late) and things are better now. At least, I got the control panel working but WITHOUT authentification (which I need). To do this, I've modified the auth.php script to be empty.

I've also tried another calendar script and had similar problem regarding authentification... there seem to be something going wrong with session's globals. Could that be a limitation from the web administrator?

Your script is far better than anything else I've seen and I really want to use it for my brother's page.

again... the URL to the control panel is:

www.pingouin.ca/~evachon/test/cl_files/index.php

Thanks for your time.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
jsvachon
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered: 10/3/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/7/2003 at 02:40 PM Reply With Quote

Hi,

I just saw that you've added an installer script. I think that's great.

I've run it to reinstall everything and I still have the same authentification problem. Everything else is working as expected.

Later,
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
nik


Posts:
Registered: 1/1/1970
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/8/2003 at 10:27 AM Reply With Quote

We are working over the problem.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
nik


Posts:
Registered: 1/1/1970
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/8/2003 at 01:19 PM Reply With Quote

You should insert the following code into cl_files/index.php before session_start();

if(!is_writable(session_save_path()))session_save_path("/tmp");
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
timmadden
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered: 10/23/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/27/2003 at 12:50 PM Reply With Quote

hi, just followed this thread as I am having the same problem... I click no anything after login for admin and it takes me back to login page,,,, tried this little snippet but still doesnt work.

into 4th day of installation.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
HBK
Newbie

Posts: 1
Registered: 12/9/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 12/9/2003 at 07:08 AM Reply With Quote

I had the same auth. problem. I solved it by clearing auth.php. After that , just make a new user.

Sorry for the bad english :D
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Post new thread

Related Links:
Product Page
Product Demonstrations Live Demos
Free/Trial Script Download Free Download
Product Documentation Documentation
Documentation page
Change Log
Support Forum Support Forum
Order Now ORDER NOW!
Add to Cart
View Cart
 

Go To Top


Powered by XMB 1.9.1 Nexus
Developed By Aventure Media & The XMB Group © 2002-2004