Support Forum Softcomplex logo
About Us  | Services  | Download  | Order  | Support  | |
| Search | Today's Posts | Stats | Board Rules | Not logged in [ Login | Register ]
go to bottom
Last active: Never

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread
Author: Subject: Only working in Firefox
Maurice
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered: 9/14/2006
Member Is Offline
posted on 9/14/2006 at 02:09 PM Reply With Quote
Only working in Firefox


We have installed the code on 2 different servers with 2 different formmail programs. In both cases, it works fine in Firefox, but does absolutely nothing in I.E. or Safari. We are testing on Macs and PCs with the same results. It appears that the javascript is not executing.

I am totally baffled here!

To make things worse, the demo1.html and demo2.html files on the same 2 servers work fine in all browsers. And I basically just copied the code straight across out of the demo files. Its the same code! So it has to be a conflict with a formmail program or something else. But it is running the same way on 2 servers with 2 different formmail programs.

Someone PLEASE help!

Here is my code:

---In the header:

<script language="JavaScript" src="validator.js"></script>

---Form setup in the body:

<form method="post" action="ledformmail.php" name="list" onSubmit="return v.exec()">

---The first form field:

<td height="30" align="right" style="font-size: 16px; font-weight: bold" id="t_firstname">First Name&nbsp;</td>
<td><input name="First_Name" type="text" tabindex="1" size="30" maxlength="30" /></td>

---The script right before the body end:

<script>

var a_fields = {
'First_Name':{'l':'First Name','r':true,'f':'alpha','t':'t_firstname'},
},

o_config = {
'to_disable' : ['Submit', 'Reset'],
'alert' : 1
}

// validator constructor call
var v = new validator('list', a_fields, o_config);

</script>
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
tigra
Administrator

Posts: 2049
Registered: 6/17/2002
Location: US, CO
Member Is Offline
posted on 9/14/2006 at 02:12 PM Reply With Quote

turn on more validator's alerts. also check that your form has both submit and reset buttons (your script is configured to disable them both).
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Maurice
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered: 9/14/2006
Member Is Offline
posted on 9/14/2006 at 03:27 PM Reply With Quote
Tried...


I turned off the 'Reset' button disable. That didn't help.

I turned on more fields... to validate, but that didn't help (see below).

I closed the form with this line:

<input type="submit" name="Finished" value="Finished" />

Does that matter?

What else? Please define "turn on more validator's alerts".

<script>
// form fields description structure
var a_fields = {
'First_Name':{'l':'First Name','r':true,'f':'alpha','t':'t_firstname'},
'Last_Name':{'l':'Last Name','r':true,'f':'alpha','t':'t_lastname'},
'Phone':{'l':'Telephone Number','r':true,'f':'phone','t':'t_phone'},
'email':{'l':'E-mail','r':false,'f':'email','t':'t_email'},
},

o_config = {
'to_disable' : ['Submit'],
'alert' : 1
}

// validator constructor call
var v = new validator('list', a_fields, o_config);

</script>
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Maurice
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered: 9/14/2006
Member Is Offline
posted on 9/14/2006 at 10:18 PM Reply With Quote
Fixed!


for the record, it was the fact I had a comma after the last item in the fields variable definition. Still worked in Firefox, but nothing else.

Thanks for looking at it.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
pengman
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered: 10/15/2008
Location: UK
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/15/2008 at 03:03 PM Reply With Quote

I've got exactly the same problem - the validaotr works in Firefox but not in IE (v 6 anyway). And yes, I too had an comma after the last item in the fields declaration, but in my case removing it made no difference. Could you please define "turn on more validator's alerts".
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
pengman
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered: 10/15/2008
Location: UK
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/17/2008 at 04:46 PM Reply With Quote

Sorted this myself. The problem was a comma after the FIRST item in the fileds declaration. Now running perfectly. This is a GREAT tool - shame there aren't a few more text/character formats available to choose from though.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
tigra
Administrator

Posts: 2049
Registered: 6/17/2002
Location: US, CO
Member Is Offline
posted on 10/18/2008 at 12:35 AM Reply With Quote

The nice thing is that you can extend it with any formats you want.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Post new thread

Related Links:
Product Page Product Page
Product Demonstrations Product Demos
Registration Form Validation
Login Form Validation
Free Download Free Download
Product Documentation Documentation
Documenation Page
Change Log
Validators Comparison Table
Support Forum Support Forum
 

Go To Top


Powered by XMB 1.9.1 Nexus
Developed By Aventure Media & The XMB Group © 2002-2004