Support Forum Softcomplex logo
About Us  | Services  | Download  | Order  | Support  | |
| Search | Today's Posts | Stats | Board Rules | Not logged in [ Login | Register ]
go to bottom
Last active: Never

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread
Author: Subject: Slow to load
Weeble
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered: 5/25/2006
Member Is Offline
posted on 5/25/2006 at 06:20 AM Reply With Quote
Slow to load


I have a menu system comprising about 300 items arranged in three levels. It is VERY slow to load (about 15-20 seconds) but once loaded it works fine. Is this normal for an array of this size?

Weeble....

PS menu is loaded via a PHP include function.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
tigra
Administrator

Posts: 2049
Registered: 6/17/2002
Location: US, CO
Member Is Offline
posted on 5/25/2006 at 11:29 AM Reply With Quote

there are three stages of this process and you'll have to investigate which one causes the most delay:
1. you php scripting (try the menu on static HTML page with static .JS configuration to see if there is any difference)
2. download time of the files (try the menu on blank HTML page with small items hierarchy ...)
3. initialization time (small items hierarchy will make difference)

knowing where the bottle neck is you can start searching for the solution
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Weeble
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered: 5/25/2006
Member Is Offline
posted on 5/26/2006 at 03:06 AM Reply With Quote

Thanks for the quick response.
I have tried calling the menu directly from an html page but still the same results -- also doesn't seem to make much difference if the menu js links are placed inside or outside the <header> tags!

My tree has 5 top level items, each of which then has about 30 child-items each of which have 2 further child-items. In one area the tree goes to a fourth level with about 5 items.
By experimentation I have found that the loading time is more or less directly related to the number of menu items I present... but everything is located on the same server so there shouldn't be a problem with network access times. I'm puzzled!

I see a few people have had problems with slow loading in the past but no solid resolutions posted here. So has if any of the previous posters are reading this, did you find a fix?

Thanks again.... Weeble
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Weeble
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered: 5/25/2006
Member Is Offline
posted on 5/26/2006 at 04:42 AM Reply With Quote

One step forward______________

I've just applied my menu_items.js to the Demo folders that are part of the download and they load in all the demos with no problem whatsoever.... so that excludes that particular file from the trouble shooting.

Weeble
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
tigra
Administrator

Posts: 2049
Registered: 6/17/2002
Location: US, CO
Member Is Offline
posted on 5/26/2006 at 09:02 AM Reply With Quote

if your tree_items structure works fast with the samples from the distribution package then it's not the initialization. The networks speed is high so it's not the download time, this leaves us with your .php file. Comment out its fragment to find out what lags the page loading.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Weeble
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered: 5/25/2006
Member Is Offline
posted on 6/1/2006 at 03:34 AM Reply With Quote

Been away for a couple days, and the break obviously did me good.

The current situation is that it seems the slow running problem is only apparent on machines that have a particular application (Dimensions) installed on them... on all other machines it runs fine :(

Dimensions installs a Java Virtual Machine and I'm wondering if that might be the cause of the problem. Any ideas??

Weeble
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
tigra
Administrator

Posts: 2049
Registered: 6/17/2002
Location: US, CO
Member Is Offline
posted on 6/1/2006 at 09:18 AM Reply With Quote

Tigra Tree Menu is JavaScript, not java. Maybe that Dimentions thing eats too much client's resources or somehow interacts with the browser's scripting engine.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Post new thread

Related Links:
Product Page Tigra Menu
Product Demonstrations Live Demos:
Traditional Blue
White Steps
Inner HTML
All Together
Frames Targeting
Free Download Free Download
Free Download Menu Builders
Online Builder
Builder for Windows
Product Documentation Documentation:
Documenation Page
Change Log
Menus Comparison Table
Support Forum Support Forum
 

Go To Top


Powered by XMB 1.9.1 Nexus
Developed By Aventure Media & The XMB Group © 2002-2004