Support Forum Softcomplex logo
About Us  | Services  | Download  | Order  | Support  | |
| Search | Today's Posts | Stats | Board Rules | Not logged in [ Login | Register ]
go to bottom
Last active: Never

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread
Author: Subject: How can a selected menu item stay in "hover" until another is selected??
spw
Member

Posts: 44
Registered: 12/8/2005
Location: Australia
Member Is Offline
posted on 1/19/2006 at 01:02 PM Reply With Quote
How can a selected menu item stay in "hover" until another is selected??


In order to show "context" I want to have a selected menu item retain its "hover" state until another item is selected. Has anyone tried and had any luck implementing this? Level zero (ie: top level) menu items only is ok
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
tigra
Administrator

Posts: 2049
Registered: 6/17/2002
Location: US, CO
Member Is Offline
posted on 1/21/2006 at 04:11 PM Reply With Quote

http://www.softcomplex.com/forum/viewthread_1512/
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
spw
Member

Posts: 44
Registered: 12/8/2005
Location: Australia
Member Is Offline
posted on 2/15/2006 at 01:08 PM Reply With Quote
Looked like the solution but I cannot get it to work.....


I have read the thread a few times and looked at the zipped examples - still cannot get my version (based on method two) to work in any browser.

I am sure it is something small like another missing character somewhere. The code follows - please let me know where i have made a mistake....

menu_items.js
--------------------
/* Tigra Menu items structure */

var MENU_ITEMS = [
[wrap('History'), 'history.htm', {'tw':'mainFrame'}],
[wrap('Latest News'), 'lnews.htm', {'tw':'mainFrame'}],
[wrap('Interviews'), 'interviews.htm', {'tw':'mainFrame'}],
/*
['Sound Bites', 'sounds.htm', {'tw':'mainFrame'}],
['Press', 'pressart.htm', {'tw':'mainFrame'}],
*/
[wrap('Testimonials'), 'testim.htm', {'tw':'mainFrame'}],
[wrap('Famous Friends'), 'ffriends.htm', {'tw':'mainFrame'}],
[wrap('FAQ'), 'faq.htm', {'tw':'mainFrame'}],
[wrap('Contact Mark'), 'contact.htm', {'tw':'mainFrame'}]
];


function wrap(caption) {
if (caption == CURRENT_ITEM){
alert (caption); //comes up correctly but the next line does not do anything
return '<font color="red">' + caption + '</font>';
}
else
return '<font color="white">' + caption + '</font>';
}


topfrm.htm
---------------
<html>
<head>

<script language="JavaScript">
var CURRENT_ITEM = '';
</script>


<script language="JavaScript" src="menu_files/menu.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="menu_files/menu_items.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="menu_files/menu_tpl-ns.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="menu_files/menu.css">

</head>

<body background="images/retroflowersx.jpg">

<table width="750" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td width="100">&nbsp;</td>
<td align="center">
<h3><font face="Comic Sans MS">The Mark Copolov Radio Interviews</font></h3>
<font face="Comic Sans MS" size="2">Chronicals of a passionate musician</font> </td>
</tr>
</table>
<table width=100% border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" >
<tr bgcolor="#3C76B2">
<td height="30">&nbsp;</td>
</tr>
</table>
<script language="JavaScript">
new menu (MENU_ITEMS, MENU_TPL);
</script>

</body>
</html>


contact.htm
----------------
<html>
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">

<script language="JavaScript">
var CURRENT_ITEM = 'Contact Mark';
</script>

<script language="JavaScript" src="menu_files/menu.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="menu_files/menu_items.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="menu_files/menu_tpl-ie.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="menu_files/menu.css">

</head>

<body background="images/retroflowers.jpg">
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<table width="750" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" height="97">
<tr>
<td width="100">&nbsp;</td>
<td width="*">
<p align="center">Mark can be contacted by <a

href="mailto:&#032;&#109;&#099;&#111;&#112;&#111;&#108;&#111;&#118;&#064;&#111;&#112;&#116;&# 117;&#115;&#110;

&#101;&#116;&#046;&#099;&#111;&#109;&#046;&#097;&#117;">e-mail</a>.</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p align="center"><img src="images/siteby.gif" usemap="#Map" border="0"></p>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<map name="Map">
<area shape="rect" coords="0,0,134,40" href="#" target="_blank">
</map>

</body>
</html>
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
tigra
Administrator

Posts: 2049
Registered: 6/17/2002
Location: US, CO
Member Is Offline
posted on 2/16/2006 at 02:48 AM Reply With Quote

If you need someone to look at your code attach complete working sample in the zip package. It takes too much time too rebuild the situation and in some cases the result may be different.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
spw
Member

Posts: 44
Registered: 12/8/2005
Location: Australia
Member Is Offline
posted on 2/16/2006 at 01:37 PM Reply With Quote
Zipped problem attached


Attached is the code that reproduces the problem.

By the way, I noticed that the version of the menu.js in the example that can be downloaded is not the same version as the one I have in Menu Gold. In fact the menu.css is also different.

I need something that will work using the current version of Menu Pro (3.0) and Menu Gold (2.6) which I purchased alond with the package of other Tigra products.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
tigra
Administrator

Posts: 2049
Registered: 6/17/2002
Location: US, CO
Member Is Offline
posted on 2/16/2006 at 08:27 PM Reply With Quote

I've removed the attachment because it contained commercial code.

Anyway the problem is that you set the CURRENT_ITEM variable in the documents that don't even have the menu in them. Yes, you link the menu files but you never initialize the menu there. Anyway this feature will only work if you actually reload the document containing the menu so it will not handle the scenario with the menu in one frame and content pages in another. That's unless you reload menu frame each time which further reduces questionable advantages of frames.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
spw
Member

Posts: 44
Registered: 12/8/2005
Location: Australia
Member Is Offline
posted on 2/17/2006 at 01:29 AM Reply With Quote

Thanks for thinking about commercial code protection.

I understand - so the colouring of the menu item is done when the mainframe page is loaded - I will try the following:

Move the menu so that it overlaps the top and main fames so that the menu has to be part of the main frame pages anyway (instead of just the top frame) and thus force the evaluation of the CURRENT_ITM content when the page is loaded.

I am glad that this time it was not a bit of careless coding on my part... :)
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Post new thread

Related Links:
Product Page Product Page
Functionality demos Functionality demos
Multiple
Cross-framed
Select-boxes
Effects
Design demos Design demos
Icons & arrows
Idea!
Hi there!
Matrix
MS Style
XP Style
Dots
3D-Buttons
Product Documentation Documentation
Documenation Page
Change Log
Menus Comparison Table
Support Forum Technical Support
Support Forum
Customer Care System
Order Now ORDER NOW!
Add to Cart
View Cart
 

Go To Top


Powered by XMB 1.9.1 Nexus
Developed By Aventure Media & The XMB Group © 2002-2004