Support Forum Softcomplex logo
About Us  | Services  | Download  | Order  | Support  | |
| Search | Today's Posts | Stats | Board Rules | Not logged in [ Login | Register ]
go to bottom
Last active: Never

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread
Author: Subject: scrolling window doesn't refresh
niles110
Newbie

Posts: 1
Registered: 2/18/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 2/18/2003 at 12:32 AM Reply With Quote
scrolling window doesn't refresh


Everything works fine, but when I chage the content HTML file and save it then hit reload on my browser - it doesn't update the included HTML.

I know I can hit the Shift or CTRL reload and get it to work - but my visitors won't know this. Are there any solutions to have the included HTML update with each visit/refresh to the page?

THanks!
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
nik


Posts:
Registered: 1/1/1970
Member Is Offline
posted on 2/18/2003 at 07:43 AM Reply With Quote
re: scrolling window doesn't refresh


Even when you press Shift or CTRL they regard only to parent page frame, not iframe. Iframe content continues to be loaded from cache. To see it is true just rename content HTML file and point it to the scroller.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
andyjohn
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered: 7/12/2004
Member Is Offline
posted on 7/12/2004 at 12:45 PM Reply With Quote

Yes - but is there any way around it?

I also would like to force a refresh of the scroll.tpl0.js file, as I'm dynamically building the list of scroller items from a database.

I'm finding that when I update the data, the file isn't hit again, so doesn't pick up the data changes (browser goes to cache unless I quit browser process).

Should I be attempting to do this another way?


Thanks in advance,
Andrew.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
andyjohn
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered: 7/12/2004
Member Is Offline
posted on 7/12/2004 at 12:53 PM Reply With Quote

Ahhh ... just rereading nik's post, I just right-clicked on the scroller IFrame and selected 'refresh'. Updated the scroller content properly.

Still ... I'd prefer a programmatic way of forcing a refresh if possible - getting someone to manually refresh is not really a suitable user-experience.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
sestey
Newbie

Posts: 1
Registered: 7/20/2004
Member Is Offline
posted on 7/20/2004 at 03:15 PM Reply With Quote

I just installed this product and am running into the EXACT SAME problem. Is there a fix or workaround for this?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
rock
Moderator

Posts: 687
Registered: 4/15/2003
Member Is Offline
posted on 7/21/2004 at 11:47 AM Reply With Quote

Please find the demo in the attachment.
If the solution satisfy your needs please let us know and we'll include it in the next product release.

Note: to successfully refresh scroller's items defined via 'file' key, you should use the following meta tag in your files header:
<META HTTP-EQUIV="pragma" content="no-cache">
Just like within s0_data/cont1.html and s0_data/cont2.html files of the demo.

Attachment: refresh_issue.zip (33.76kb)
This file has been downloaded 1297 times
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
dario di bona
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered: 7/19/2004
Member Is Offline
posted on 8/27/2004 at 06:53 PM Reply With Quote
little change in: Version 1.5 Refresh issue


Hi rock,

I'm using tigra scoller in my home page retriving items from Mysql (scroll.tpl0.js => scroll.tpl0.php).
I don't know why, but the workaround i downloaded (refresh_issue.zip) doesn't work properly for my code. I tried a little change in function refresh : window.location=history.go() instead of window.location=window.location. It works...and I'don't Know why. I'm not a JS programmer at all.

Bye
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Rob2904
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered: 12/22/2004
Member Is Offline
posted on 12/22/2004 at 01:58 PM Reply With Quote
Re: Refreshing with Tigra scroller


I have the same issue as the guys above - I want the content to refresh say every 30 seconds. I have downloaded the refresh zip but can't seem to get this working. Meta tag for no cacheing was added and the refresh was instructed through the header() function in PHP. IE makes a click as it refreshes but the content doesn't change.

Does anybody have any examples of doing this with PHP?

Any help kindly appreciated.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Rob2904
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered: 12/22/2004
Member Is Offline
posted on 12/22/2004 at 02:21 PM Reply With Quote
Ooops !


Sorry, I should have looked at the example more closely....my apologies for wasting anybody's time !!
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
bopp
Member

Posts: 13
Registered: 9/9/2005
Member Is Offline
posted on 9/9/2005 at 10:24 PM Reply With Quote

Quote:
Originally posted by rock

Note: to successfully refresh scroller's items defined via 'file' key, you should use the following meta tag in your files header:
<META HTTP-EQUIV="pragma" content="no-cache">
Just like within s0_data/cont1.html and s0_data/cont2.html files of the demo.


What if the file is an image? I'll try using an html file for the images...
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Post new thread

Related Links:
Product Page
Product Demonstrations Live Demos:
Multiple vertical scrolling
Horizontal scrolling
Free Download Free Download
Product Documentation Documentation:
Documenation Page
Change Log
Support Forum Technical Support
Support Forum
   

Go To Top


Powered by XMB 1.9.1 Nexus
Developed By Aventure Media & The XMB Group © 2002-2004